Photo credit - Texas A&M Athletics

More preseason recognition for IU football: Penix on Manning watch list, McFadden on Lombardi, Buckley on Campbell Tyler Rose

There is no shortage of preseason watch lists in college football, and Indiana has players on just about all of them.  IU players were named to three more lists late last week, including two who have now been recognized at least four times.

Indiana redshirt junior quarterback Michael Penix Jr. earned a spot on the Manning Award Watch List, which goes to the top quarterback and includes bowl game performances. Penix is also on watch lists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year, the Maxwell Award, and the Davey O’Brien Award, and he was one of 10 players to receive Big Ten preseason honors.

Indiana senior linebacker Micah McFadden is a member of the Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List, the award and the Rotary Club of Houston announced.  The award goes to college football’s top lineman and includes linebackers who set up no further than five yards deep from the line of scrimmage. This marks the fourth watch list appearance for McFadden (Bednarik, Butkus, Nagurski, Lombardi).

Finally, Indiana graduate student wide receiver and transfer from Texas A&M Camron Buckley has been selected to the ninth annual Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List, it was announced at the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce and SPORTyler 15th Annual East Texas Kick-off Luncheon.  The full release on Buckley and the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award is below.

First, here is the latest complete list of preseason recognition for IU players and head coach Tom Allen:

  • Dodd Trophy – Tom Allen
  • Maxwell Award – Ty Fryfogle, Michael Penix Jr.
  • Bednarik Award – Micah McFadden, Tiawan Mullen
  • Bronko Nagurski — Micah McFadden, Tiawan Mullen
  • Rotary Lombardi — Micah McFadden
  • Davey O’Brien Award – Michael Penix Jr.
  • Doak Walker Award – Stephen Carr
  • B1G Preseason Honors – Michael Penix Jr.
  • Biletnikoff Award – Ty Fryfogle
  • John Mackey Award – Peyton Hendershot
  • Jim Thorpe Award – Tiawan Mullen
  • Butkus Award – Micah McFadden
  • Outland Trophy – Matthew Bedford
  • Lou Groza Award – Charles Campbell
  • Wuerffel Trophy – Michael Ziemba
  • Paul Hornung Award – D.J. Matthews Jr.
  • Walter Camp Player of the Year Award – Michael Penix Jr.
  • Manning Award – Michael Penix Jr.
  • Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award – Camron Buckley

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana graduate student wide receiver Camron Buckley has been selected to the ninth annual Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List, it was announced at the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce and SPORTyler 15th Annual East Texas Kick-off Luncheon.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity; specifically, tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals. In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four-year college.

Buckley joined the program as a transfer from Texas A&M University on May 24, 2021. He graduated with a university studies degree in Dec. 2020.

The Cedar Hill, Texas, native owns 62 receptions for 877 yards (14.1 average) and four touchdowns in 39 games (4 starts from 2017-20).

The Watch List will be narrowed to up to 16 semifinalists in November and then up to five finalists in December. They will be selected by broadcasters, commentators, journalists, fans, and previous winners. The finalists will be brought to Tyler for The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Banquet scheduled for Jan. 12, 2022.

This year’s Watch List (complete list attached) includes:
53 players from nine conferences and five independents (American, ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, Conference USA, Mountain West, Pac-12, SEC, and Sun Belt)
Players representing Universities from 24 different states and 44 schools
Wide receivers lead the nominations with 20, followed by running backs (15), quarterbacks (10), offensive linemen (5), and tight ends (3).

A player does not have to appear on the initial Watch List to be eligible to win the award. The Watch List is made up of players nominated from their respective schools.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award was announced in 2012 by the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce and SPORTyler.

“We are fortunate to have a celebrity who exhibits the impeccable virtues that define this award,” Cindy Smoak, Executive Director SPORTyler said. In addition to being a well-known sports figure, Earl also earned a college degree, married his high school sweetheart, raised two successful sons and still supports the community where he grew up.”

Earl Campbell graduated from John Tyler High School in Tyler before joining the Texas Longhorns under legendary Coach Darrell K. Royal. In his senior year, he led the nation with 1,744 yards rushing and 19 touchdowns, going on to win the Longhorns’ first Heisman Trophy.

He was subsequently drafted by the Houston Oilers where he won Rookie of the Year honors in 1978 and went on to lead the NFL in rushing 3 times. Campbell earned NFL MVP in 1979 and was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1991. He now resides in Austin.

“All my life, all I wanted to do was be an athlete,” Campbell said. “I kept God in my life and surrounded myself with good people. I am humbled by this award named in my honor.”

Find us on Facebook:  thedailyhoosier

You can follow us on Twitter:  @daily_hoosier

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”

Seven ways to support completely free IU coverage at no additional cost to you.