Revisiting Indiana’s Current 4 Game Winning Streak Over Purdue

As we detailed yesterday, Indiana has not lost a football game to Purdue since November 2012.  In fact, no player on IU’s roster has ever lost a game to Purdue.  In our ongoing series on the Old Oaken Bucket Game, today we take a look back to the 4 most recent games — which collectively have matched the Hoosiers’ longest winning streak in the series.  The other Hoosier 4 game winning streak was from 1944 to 1947.  That was one of the better eras in IU football.  Led by head coach Bo McMillin, the Hoosiers amassed a 27-9-2 record during those 4 seasons, and won the Big Ten title in 1945.  McMillin is in the college football hall of fame as a player.

2013:  INDIANA 56  PURDUE 36

The Hoosiers set school records with 692 yards of total offense and 42 first downs.  Sophomore quarterback Tre Roberson tied an IU record with six touchdown passes and had 427 yards of total offense.  Indiana scored its most points ever in the series against Purdue.  The Hoosiers finished 5-7 overall, 3-5 in the Big Ten and ensured that Purdue would have a winless Big Ten season.

2014:  INDIANA 23  PURDUE 16

Playing without its star quarterback Nate Sudfeld, the Hoosiers struggled on offense most of the day.  Future NFL running back Tevin Coleman rushed 29 times for 130 yards, but others would shine for IU on this day.  The Hoosiers overcame a 13-3 deficit behind a much maligned defense that was effective in the red zone and also contributed 3 interceptions and recovered a fumble.  Shane Wynn scored on a 41 yard run to tie the game at 13.  Freshman quarterback Zander Diamont played a clean game and found the end zone on a 1 yard run in the 4th quarter to win it.  Indiana finished 4-8 on the season.


2015:  INDIANA 54  PURDUE 36

Nate Sudfeld missed the 2014 game but he certainly made his mark in his final Bucket Game, going 18-29 for 350 yards and 4 touchdowns.  Indiana needed that kind of day from its star quarterback, as its defense struggled despite forcing 4 turnovers.  IU had 3 different 17 point leads, but Purdue managed to pull within 8 in the 4th quarter.  Sudfeld iced it with a 72 yard touchdown pass to Andre Booker.  Devine Redding also ran 22 times for 144 yards and a touchdown.  Indiana had 659 total yards on the day and became bowl eligible for the first time in 8 years.


2016:  INDIANA 26  PURDUE 24

This was a game that epitomized how difficult rivalry games can be.  Indiana was on its home field attempting to secure bowl eligibility for the second straight season against a 3-8 Purdue team.  Due to inspired play by the Boilers and 4 interceptions thrown by Indiana (Lagow 3, Diamont 1), Purdue led 22-17 going into the 4th quarter. IU finally broke through on a 1-yard touchdown run from Devine Redding with 4:59 to go.  From there the Hoosiers’ defense would force two turnovers in the final 66 seconds to hang on.  Jonathan Crawford had 2 interceptions on the day for Indiana.  Marcus Oliver and Tegray Scales combined for 18 tackles and 2 sacks.

The Hoosiers also earned their first back-to-back bowl bids since 1990 and 1991 and won four conference games for the first time since 2001.