Photo by Mike Schumann / The Daily Hoosier

IU football: Who is coming and going in 2023 — Wide receivers

Indiana utilized a lot of wide receivers in 2022.

The Hoosiers rarely had their full complement of wideouts available, as injuries plagued D.J. Matthews Jr. throughout the season, and Cam Camper suffered a torn ACL in late October.

Camper will be ready to go for the 2023, after a strong debut season in Bloomington. He ranked 14th in the Big Ten with 569 receiving yards, despite playing only seven games. It’s unclear, though, whether he’ll take part in spring football, and if so, how much he’ll be able to do.

And after four receivers left the program in the offseason, the room will look different next year.

That starts with the position coach, as Adam Henry left IU after just one year to return to the NFL. Multiple outlets have reported IU is hiring Utah State offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach Anthony Tucker to replace Henry, but the program hasn’t made that official.

Andison Coby and Donaven McCulley could be in line for bigger roles this year, as the other two primary returnees. IU will hope that redshirt freshman Omar Cooper Jr., a 2022 four-star recruit, earns more playing time this year. Several other young, inexperienced receivers could also see the field more.

IU’s two transfer pickups at the position are intriguing, as well. Dequece Carter ranked sixth in all of FCS last season with 1,166 receiving yards, and he was fifth in FCS with 13 receiving touchdowns while wrapping up a productive Fordham career. Clemson transfer E.J. Williams was a consensus four-star recruit out of high school, but has not yet matched that potential in college.

Here is an overview of who has come and gone in the wide receiver room.  Stay tuned for more updates by position.


Leaving: D.J. Matthews Jr. (out of eligibilty), Emery Simmons (transfer — Utah), Malachi Holt-Bennett (transfer — UAB), Javon Swinton (transfer — Eastern Michigan)

Key Returning: Cam Camper (senior), Donaven McCulley (junior), Andison Coby (senior), David Baker (redshirt junior), Jaquez Smith (redshirt sophomore), Kamryn Perry (redshirt freshman), Omar Cooper (redshirt freshman)

Incoming: E.J. Williams (transfer — Clemson), Dequece Carter (transfer — Fordham), Derrick Bohler (3-star, Miami, Fla.), Orlando Greenlow (3-star, Lawndale, Calif.)

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”