Credit - IU Athletics

Three IU football players earn preseason All-America recognition from Phil Steele and PFF

They will be looking to pick things up where they left off.

A trio of Indiana University football players have earned preseason All-American recognition by both Phil Steele and PFF.

Wide receiver Ty Fryfogle, cornerback Tiawan Mullen and linebacker Micah McFadden each earned the distinction from both outlets.  McFadden was also named a Walter Camp preseason All-American.  All three players earned postseason All-American honors after their highly productive 2020 campaigns.

Fryfogle is the 21st Hoosier to reach 100 catches (112) and 1,500 yards (1,719). Fryfogle is 16th on the program’s career yardage list and 25th in career receptions.  In 2020 he was the Big Ten Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year and first-team All-Big Ten (media) and IU’s Most Outstanding Offensive Player of the Year.

Mullen became the first Indiana cornerback to earn first-team All-America honors in 2020. He is the second cornerback in school history to achieve All-America status. Mullen also became the first Hoosier cornerback since 2007 to collect first-team All-Big Ten recognition in 2020. He is the team’s active leader with eight career takeaways (3 interceptions, 3 forced fumbles and 2 fumble recoveries).  In 2020 he made 38 tackles, 27 solo, with 3.5 sacks (32 yards), 4.5 for loss (33 yards), three interceptions, one forced fumble, four pass breakups and one quarterback hurry.  Mullen led Big Ten defensive backs in sacks.

McFadden led the team with 58 tackles, 44 solos, six sacks (31 yards), and 10.5 for loss (39 yards), while he shared second with three quarterback hurries, and finished fourth with two interceptions. McFadden topped the Big Ten in sacks, the first Hoosier to do so since Greg Middleton (2007), tied for second in solo stops, shared third in tackles for loss, and tied for eighth in interceptions.

Joining Fryfogle on Steele’s 2021 preseason All-Big Ten offense list were five additional Hoosiers — receiver D.J. Matthews, offensive tackle Caleb Jones, quarterback Michael Penix, tight end Peyton Hendershot and offensive tackle Matthew Bedford.

A total of five Indiana defensive players earned preseason All-Big Ten accolades by Steele.  Joining Mullen and McFadden were cornerback Jaylin Williams, safety Devon Matthews and defensive end Ryder Anderson.

On special teams, returner Reese Taylor, kicker Chuck Campbell and long snapper Sean Wracher were each recognized as preseason All-Big Ten by Steele.

Find us on Facebook:  thedailyhoosier

You can follow us on Twitter:  @daily_hoosier

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”

Seven ways to support completely free IU coverage at no additional cost to you.