Photo credit - IU Athletics

Teri Moren named Big Ten Coach of the Year, six IU players earn All-Big Ten honors

After winning its first outright Big Ten title in program history, Indiana women’s basketball brought home a haul of individual honors on Tuesday.

Senior forward Mackenzie Holmes was named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, and Teri Moren was named Big Ten Coach of the Year. This is the second time Moren’s earned that honor, after receiving it in 2015-16.

Additionally, each of Indiana’s primary six rotation players earned All-Big Ten recognition. Holmes and Grace Berger were named first team All-Big Ten by both media and coaches, and Chloe Moore-McNeil picked up second team All-Big Ten honors from media. Yarden Garzon, Sara Scalia, and Sydney Parrish were named honorable mentions.

Holmes has featured on an all-conference team in each of her four season in Bloomington. This is her second time on the first team. She also made the conference’s All-Defensive Team for the second time in her career.

Moore-McNeil was also named to the All-Defensive Team.

Berger, despite missing four conference games with her knee injury, was named first team All-Big Ten for the fourth consecutive year. This is Scalia’s third season with all-conference honors, dating back to her days at Minnesota.