IU men’s swim and dive wins Big Ten championship

The Indiana men’s swimming and diving team is your 2022 Big Ten champion.

After a two-year gap, IU has again claimed the league crown for the fourth time in six years and the 28th time in program history.

The Hoosiers used a strong final night to stretch their lead and secure first place at the 2022 Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships inside Morgan J. Burke Aquatic Center, finishing with 1499.5 points and ahead of runner-up Ohio State’s 1406.5.

Senior Andrew Capobianco repeated as the Big Ten Diver of the Championships after becoming the first Big Ten diver to sweep the three conference diving titles since 2011. He completed the triad Saturday, winning gold in the Platform dive.

Junior Brendan Burns won three individual events and was selected the Big Ten Swimmer of the Championships for the second consecutive year. After setting a meet record to win the 100 Backstroke Friday night, Burns came back Saturday evening to capture gold in both the 200 Backstroke and 200 Butterfly.

“This was truly a team effort,” IU swimming head coach Ray Looze said. “I’m so proud of our fantastic swimmers and divers, and I am grateful for our staff of coaches, director of operations, and administrators who made this possible.”

“It exemplifies a team effort. From every swimmer, diver, coach, manager, media, everyone at IU shares in this victory,” IU head diving coach Drew Johansen said. “We saw it on the diving side, [Lenin Hibler] stepping up on the platform in the prelim to steal a point from the Buckeyes, to then Andrew [Capobianco] and Carson [Henninger] in the final tonight just tearing it up. Andrew’s sweep was something that hasn’t been done in a long time, and it was pretty amazing.”

1. Indiana – 1499.5
2. Ohio State – 1406.5
3. Michigan – 1056.5
4. Wisconsin – 869.5
5. Purdue – 821
6. Northwestern – 796
7. Minnesota – 637
8. Penn State – 626

• Indiana men’s swimming and diving won its 28th Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Championship. The Hoosier men have won five conference titles during the Ray Looze era and four since Drew Johansen became head diving coach. IU boasts 69 relay titles, 372 individual champions, 263 swimming champions and 53 diving champions.
• Indiana’s 2:47.96 silver-medal performance in the 400 Freestyle Relay ranks third in program history but was IU’s top time in a Big Ten meet.
• IU totaled six medals over three diving events. Capobianco won gold in all three, freshman Quinn Henninger collected silver and bronze in the 1-meter and 3-meter dives, respectively, and freshman Carson Tyler earned bronze in the platform.
• Capobianco won Indiana’s first Big Ten Platform diving gold since James Connor in 2015.
• All three Indiana divers that competed in the Platform dive final set personal bests in the event.
• Burns captured IU’s sixth straight victories in both the 200 Backstroke and 200 Butterfly on Saturday. The junior has won three consecutive 200 fly titles and back-to-back 200 back titles.
• In the 200 Breaststroke, freshman Josh Matheny dropped 2.5 seconds from his preliminary time, 1:53.16, bringing it down to 1:50.65 to secure an NCAA A Cut and a silver medal.

Swimmer of the Championships
Brendan Burns, Indiana

Diver of the Championships
Andrew Capobianco, Indiana

All-Big Ten First Team
Brendan Burns, Indiana
Andrew Capobianco, Indiana
Tomer Frankel, Indiana
Josh Matheny, Indiana
Van Mathias, Indiana
Rafael Miroslaw, Indiana
Jared Daigle, Michigan
Gal Cohen Groumi, Michigan
Maxwell McHugh, Minnesota
Joseph Armstrong, Ohio State
Charles Clark, Ohio State
Hudson McDaniel, Ohio State
Alex Quach, Ohio State
Sem Andreis, Ohio State
Ruslan Gaziev, Ohio State
Jacob Newmark, Wisconsin

All-Big Ten Second Team
Bruno Blaskovic, Indiana
Gabriel Fantoni, Indiana
Jack Franzman, Indiana
Quinn Henninger, Indiana
Kevin Callan, Michigan
Jacob Mitchell, Michigan
Bora Unalmis, Michigan
Kevin Houseman, Northwestern
Jordan Rzepka, Purdue

The Big Ten Champions move on to the next phase of championship season. IU divers will head to the NCAA Zone Diving Championships, March 7-9 in Ann Arbor, Michigan, before the squad comes together again for the NCAA Swimming Diving Championships, March 23-26, in Atlanta.

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”