IU football running back Stevie Scott on Doak Walker Award watch list for second straight season

With 1,982 yards rushing and 22 total touchdowns already for his IU career, Stevie Scott has received plenty of accolades during his first two seasons in Bloomington.  That continued on Wednesday when the Hoosier running back was named to the Doak Walker Award watch list for the second straight year.

The full release from IU Athletics follows.

See also:  Scott wants to be part of a bowl game in 2020 | Mullen on Bednarik watch list

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana junior running back Stevie Scott III for the second-straight year is a pre-season candidate for the Doak Walker Award, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced today. Forum annually presents the award to the nation’s top college running back.

Scott enters 2020 needing 18 yards to become the 14th Hoosier to reach 2,000. He shares eighth in program history with 20 rushing touchdowns, is tied for 10th with nine 100-yard games and shares 11th with 22 total TDs (20 rushing, 2 receiving).

A second-team All-Big Ten selection one year ago, Scott finished fourth in the Big Ten in rushing yards per game (76.8), fifth in carries (178), tied for fifth in rushing touchdowns (10), tied for sixth in total TDs (11) and 10th in all-purpose yardage per game (96.0) despite missing the final two games due to injury.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name 10 semifinalists in November, and three finalists, as voted on by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee, will be announced in November. The committee will cast a second vote in December to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of past recipients, former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2020 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards.

The award is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

Honoring the legends of sports for 31 years, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit ncfaa.org and @NCFAA on Twitter to learn more about the association.

Following is the entire 2020 preseason watch list calendar:
Monday July 13: Chuck Bednarik Award
Tuesday July 14: Davey O’Brien Award
Wednesday July 15: Doak Walker Award
Thursday July 16: Biletnikoff Award
Friday July 17: Mackey Award

Monday July 20: Jim Thorpe Award
Tuesday July 21: Outland Trophy & Nagurski Award
Wednesday July 22: Groza Award & Ray Guy Award
Thursday July 23: Hornung Award & Wuerffel Trophy
Friday July 24: Walter Camp Award

Find us on Facebook:  thedailyhoosier

You can follow us on Twitter:  @daily_hoosier

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”

Seven ways to support completely free IU coverage at no additional cost to you.