IU basketball signee C.J. Gunn a finalist for Indiana Mr. Basketball

C.J. Gunn has a chance to become the 28th winner of the coveted Indiana Mr. Basketball award who went on to play for IU.

The 6-foot-5 Gunn is one of five finalists for the honor, the Indianapolis Star announced on Wednesday.

Joining Gunn on the list of finalists are Purdue-bound guards Braden Smith and Fletcher Loyer, Wisconsin-bound guard Connor Essegian, and Chesterton’s Travis Grayson.

After a foot injury stalled the start of his senior season, Gunn went on to prove that he can be a high-level scorer playing against some of the state’s best competition.  He increased his scoring average by more than nine points per game from his junior to senior seasons.

For the 2021-22 season, Gunn averaged 23.5 points, 5.5 rebounds, 1.0 assists, 1.5 steals, and 0.7 blocks per game.

He shot 46.8 percent from the field including 37.4 percent from three on 123 attempts, and 71.3 percent from the stripe.

“He’s loyal and dedicated and will bring size and athleticism to the wing position,” IU head coach Mike Woodson said.  “He comes from a very respected and winning high school program in Indiana and will be able to help us with his ability to play multiple positions.”

As a junior Gunn helped lead Lawrence North to an Indiana Class 4A state runner-up appearance in 2021.  He averaged 13.9 points, 4.6 rebounds, 1.7 assists per game as a junior and shot 38% from long distance.  He had 33 points and made a school-record nine three-pointers in a game against Ft. Wayne Snider.

The winner of the 2022 Mr. Basketball award will be announced on Saturday.  Mr. Basketball is given to the senior who receives the most votes from the state’s high school coaches and media.


The Indiana Mr. Basketball award has been handed out since 1939.  Here are the winners that went on to play, at least initially, for Indiana University:

  • Ed Schienbein, 1940
  • Tom Schwartz, 1945
  • Bill Garrett, 1947
  • Bob Masters, 1948
  • Hallie Bryant, 1953
  • Jimmy Rayl, 1959
  • Tom and Dick Van Arsdale, 1961
  • George McGinnis, 1969
  • Dave Shepherd, 1970
  • Kent Benson, 1973
  • Ray Tolbert, 1977
  • Steve Bouchie, 1979
  • Steve Alford, 1983
  • Delray Brooks, 1984
  • Jay Edwards and Lyndon Jones, 1987
  • Pat Graham, 1989
  • Damon Bailey, 1990
  • Luke Recker, 1997
  • Tom Coverdale, 1998
  • Jared Jeffries, 2000
  • A.J. Ratliff, 2004
  • Eric Gordon, 2007
  • Jordan Hulls, 2009
  • Cody Zeller, 2011
  • Romeo Langford, 2018
  • Trayce Jackson-Davis, 2019
  • Anthony Leal, 2020

Note:  Sherron Wilkerson originally won the 1993 Mr. Basketball.  He was later stripped of the award and it was given to Kojak Fuller.

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”