Credit - IU Athletics

Bezerra Finishes as Runner-Up for MAC Hermann Trophy

(Via release from IU Athletics)

Indiana men’s soccer sophomore forward Victor Bezerra finished as a runner-up for the MAC Hermann Trophy, the most prestigious award in NCAA College Soccer, on Thursday night. The honor is given to the most outstanding men’s player in NCAA Division I soccer at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. Bezerra, along with Valentin Noel (Pittsburgh), earned runner-up honors to the winner, Gloire Amanda (Oregon State).

Bezerra gave Indiana three MAC Hermann Trophy finalists in the last four seasons, joining Andrew Gutman (winner) in 2018 and Grant Lillard (runner-up) in 2017.

The MAC has honored the top player in collegiate soccer since 1986. Prior to 2002, the Missouri Athletic Club and Hermann Trophy were two separate awards.

Two IU players earned the MAC Player of the Year trophy on three occasions with Ken Snow taking the honor in 1988 and 1990, and current IU head coach Todd Yeagley in 1994. Hoosiers collected five Hermann trophies with Angelo DiBernardo in 1978, Armando Betancourt in 1981, Ken Snow in 1988 and 1990, and Brian Maisonneuve in 1994. Current Hoosier assistant coach Danny O’Rourke (2004) was the first Hoosier to win the combined award.

The All-America first team selection also racked up Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and Offensive Player of the Big Ten Tournament merits after a prolific second season in the Cream and Crimson. He tallied 12 goals, three assists, and 28 total points while leading Indiana to the national championship match. His goal total marks the highest in a single season by a Hoosier since Eriq Zavaleta secured 18 scores in 2012. Since 2006, only two Hoosiers have scored more goals than Bezerra in a single season: Will Bruin (18 in 2010) and Zavaleta (18 in 2012).

The Chicago native scored five goals in the three Big Ten Tournament matches, the most ever by a Hoosier in a single B1G tournament run, on his way to being selected the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Tournament.

Bezerra finished the season ranked third in game-winning goals (4) and 10th in both goals per game (0.75) and points per game (1.75) nationally.

Find us on Facebook:  thedailyhoosier

You can follow us on Twitter:  @daily_hoosier

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”

Seven ways to support completely free IU coverage at no additional cost to you.