Photo by Mike Schumann / The Daily Hoosier

Trayce Jackson-Davis wins Karl Malone Award as nation’s best power forward

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced on Saturday Trayce Jackson-Davis is the winner of the 2023 Karl Malone Award.

Named after the Class of 2010 Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor in its ninth year recognizes the top power forward in Division I men’s college basketball.

Jackson-Davis beat out fellow finalists Azuolas Tubelis (Arizona), Drew Timme (Gonzaga), Kris Murray (Iowa) and Bryce Hopkins (Providence) for the honor.

“I could not be more excited to receive this year’s Karl Malone Award, “said Jackson-Davis in a release. “This is something I share with our coaches and staff, my teammates, family, and all of Hoosier Nation. Thank you to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame for this honor.”

The Greenwood, Ind. product made significant strides in his fourth and final season in Bloomington under head coach Mike Woodson.

“Trayce has accomplished so much as an Indiana Hoosier and is very deserving of the Karl Malone Award,” said Woodson. “When this team was down in early January, he put the entire program on his shoulders, and night after night he made winning plays. He was the best player on the court all the way through the postseason.”

A consensus All-America First Team selection, Jackson-Davis started 32 games this season and averaged 20.9 points, 10.8 rebounds, 4.0 assists, and 2.9 blocks per game.

He is the first Division I men’s basketball player to average at least 20.0 points, 10.0 rebounds, 4.0 assists, and 2.0 blocks in a season in over 25 years. He led the Hoosiers in all four categories while also shooting 58.2% (262-of-450) from the floor and 69.5% (146-of-210) from the free throw line.

Jackson-Davis finished his Hoosier career third on the all-time program list for career points (2,258) and double-doubles (50). He holds the school record in both career rebounds (1,143) and blocked shots (270). TJD became the fifth player in Big Ten men’s basketball history to amass 2,000 career points and 1,000 career rebounds.


Graphic via Naismith Hall of Fame

2023 Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame Men’s Starting Five

Bob Cousy Award (Point Guard) – Markquis Nowell, Kansas State

Jerry West Award (Shooting Guard) – Marcus Sasser, Houston

Julius Erving Award (Small Forward) – Jalen Wilson, Kansas

Karl Malone Award (Power Forward) – Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award (Center) – Zach Edey, Purdue

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”