Photo credit - IU Athletics

Six IU football players receive preseason recognition from PFF, headlined by Tiawan Mullen

Indiana cornerback Tiawan Mullen has been named first-team All-Big Ten by PFF, and honorable mention All-American according to that outlet.

PFF wrote this about Mullen in their 2022 college football preview guide.

“When healthy, he’s undoubtedly among the best at the position. The 5-foot-10, 175-pounder has inside-outside versatility and is a ferocious blitzer. Mullen is also the proud owner of the highest run-defense grade among cornerbacks since his true freshman campaign in 2019. In coverage, he consistently wins at the catch point, with a 20.6% forced incompletion rate since 2019 — the second-best among active Power Five cornerbacks.”

Two other IU defenders received All-Big Ten recognition from PFF.  Mullen’s fellow cornerback Jaylin Williams was named honorable mention, as was safety Devon Matthews.

PFF also named tackle Luke Haggard and wide receiver D.J. Matthews to their honorable mention All-Big Ten squad, along with kicker Charles Campbell.

Overall PFF sees IU as the No. 76 team in the country and projects 4.8 wins in 2022.

Here are all three preseason All-Big Ten teams according to PFF, along with the honorable mentions:


QB: C.J. Stroud, Ohio State

RB: Blake Corum, Michigan

RB: TreVeyon Henderson, Ohio State

WR: Jaxon Smith-Njigba, Ohio State

WR: Parker Washington, Penn State

WR: Dontay Demus Jr., Maryland

TE: Erick All, Michigan

OT: Peter Skoronski, Northwestern

OT: Dawand Jones, Ohio State

G: Matthew Jones, Ohio State

G: J.D. Duplain, Michigan State

C: John Michael Schmitz, Minnesota


DI: Jacob Slade, Michigan State

DI: Mazi Smith, Michigan

Edge: Nick Herbig, Wisconsin

Edge: Zach Harrison, Ohio State

LB: Jack Campbell, Iowa

LB: Jestin Jacobs, Iowa

CB: DJ Turner, Michigan

CB: Riley Moss, Iowa

S: Ji’Ayir Brown, Penn State

S: Avery Young, Rutgers

Flex D: Tiawan Mullen, Indiana


K: Jake Moody, Michigan

P: Brad Robbins, Michigan

PR/KR: Jayden Reed, Michigan State


QB: Taulia Tagovailoa, Maryland

RB: Braelon Allen, Wisconsin

RB: Donovan Edwards, Michigan

WR: Rakim Jarrett, Maryland

WR: Mitchell Tinsley, Penn State

WR: Ronnie Bell, Michigan

TE: Sam LaPorta, Iowa

OT: Paris Johnson Jr., Ohio State

OT: Ryan Hayes, Michigan

G: Spencer Anderson, Maryland

G: Spencer Holstege, Purdue

C: Olu Oluwatimi, Michigan


DI: Keeanu Benton, Wisconsin

DI: Tyleik Williams, Ohio State

Edge: Durell Nchami, Maryland

Edge: Adetomiwa Adebawore, Northwestern

LB: Curtis Jacobs, Penn State

LB: Seth Benson, Iowa

CB: Joey Porter Jr., Penn State

CB: Jay Shaw, Wisconsin

S: Xavier Henderson, Michigan State

S: Jordan Howden, Minnesota

Flex D: Cameron Mitchell, Northwestern


K: Noah Ruggles, Ohio State

P: Andy Vujnovich, Wisconsin

PR/KR: Charlie Jones, Purdue


QB: Aidan O’Connell, Purdue

RB: Chase Brown, Illinois

RB: Mohamed Ibrahim, Minnesota

WR: Jayden Reed, Michigan State

WR: Marvin Harrison Jr., Ohio State

WR: Chris Autman-Bell, Minnesota

TE: Payne Durham, Purdue

OT: Jaelyn Duncan, Maryland

OT: Alex Palczewski, Illinois

G: Axel Ruschmeyer, Minnesota

G: Zak Zinter, Michigan

C: Luke Wypler, Ohio State


DI: PJ Mustipher, Penn State

DI: Branson Deen, Purdue

Edge: Garrett Nelson, Nebraska

Edge: Ochaun Mathis, Nebraska

LB: Steele Chambers, Ohio State

LB: Luke Reimer, Nebraska

CB: Denzel Burke, Ohio State

CB: Justin Walley, Minnesota

S: Ronnie Hickman, Ohio State

S: Kaevon Merriweather, Iowa

Flex D: Tanner McCalister, Ohio State


K: Chad Ryland, Maryland

P: Brian Buschini, Nebraska

PR/KR: Aron Cruickshank, Rutgers


QB: Cade McNamara, Michigan

RB: Miyan Williams, Ohio State

RB: Evan Hull, Northwestern

WR: D.J. Matthews Jr., Indiana

WR: Malik Washington, Northwestern

WR: Jeshaun Jones, Maryland

TE: Brevyn Spann-Ford, Minnesota

OT: Luke Haggard, Indiana

OT: Jack Nelson, Wisconsin

G: Mason Lunsford, Maryland

G: Connor Colby, Iowa

C: Joe Tippmann, Wisconsin


DI: Simeon Barrow, Michigan State

DI: Lukas Van Ness, Iowa

Edge: Joe Evans, Iowa

Edge: Mohamed Toure, Rutgers*

LB: Cal Haladay, Michigan State

LB: Tommy Eichenberg, Ohio State

CB: Jaylin Williams, Indiana

CB: Kessawn Abraham, Rutgers

S: John Torchio, Wisconsin

S: Devon Matthews, Indiana

Flex D: Coco Azema, Northwestern


K: Charles Campbell, Indiana

P: Adam Korsak, Rutgers

PR/KR: Emeka Egbuka, Ohio State

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”