Credit - IU Athletics

Peyton Hendershot is the new IU football all-time receptions leader among tight ends

A new entry etched in the IU record books was somewhat lost in the ugliness that was Indiana’s 54-7 loss to Ohio State on Saturday in Bloomington.

Indiana redshirt senior tight end Peyton Hendershot became IU’s tight ends receptions leader against the Buckeyes.  He led the Hoosiers on the night with five catches for 35 yards and he scored the lone Hoosier touchdown, a 12-yarder in the back of the end zone on the play that quarterback Jack Tuttle suffered a foot injury.

“You can see how good our offense can be with that first drive,” Hendershot said after the game.  “I don’t know how many plays, but we kept going, marched down the field and scored.”

While the offense did nothing once Tuttle went down, Hendershot went on to eclipse the record, and he caught the record-setting pass from an unlikely source.

Hendershot’s fourth reception on the night made him the program’s all-time receptions leader for tight ends with 118, and the quarterback on that play could be a pretty challenging trivia question in the years to come.  Hendershot hauled in fifth-string walk-on quarterback Grant Gremel’s three-yard toss for catch number 118, putting him past Ted Bolser and into the top spot in the record books.

Now in his fifth year playing for the program, Hendershot owns 119 career receptions for 1,277 yards and 12 TDs. The North Salem, Ind., native moved into second place for tight end receiving yards on Saturday, and he could take the top spot in that category this weekend.  He only trails Bolser in yardage (1,337) and scores (15) among tight ends.

Hendershot sits 17th all-time on the program’s receptions list for all receivers and he could move into the top-10 before the season ends.  Former wideout Simmie Cobbs sits in tenth place with 139 receptions.  Hendershot won’t come anywhere near all-time leader James Hardy ‘s 191 unless he were to return for a sixth season.



  • Peyton Hendershot (119; 2017-21)
  • Ted Bolser (117; 2010-13)
  • Bob Stephenson (115; 1978-81)

Receiving Yards

  • Bolser (1,337)
  • Hendershot (1,277)
  • Stephenson (1,252)
  • Dave Lilja (1,045; 1984-86)

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”