Doug McSchooler / AP

Nine Indiana Football Players Receive Big Ten Honors

The 2018 Indiana football season has come to an end, and nine Hoosiers have received recognition from the Big Ten for their performance on the field and sportsmanship.  The players include four that will be back with the team next year.

Adapted from an IU release —


Logan Justus

Justus continues the Hoosiers run of all-conference kickers as Griffin Oakes earned Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year and first team accolades in 2015 and 2017, and Mitch Ewald collected second team laurels in 2013.

One of 20 semifinalists for the Lou Groza Award, Justus finished the campaign 15-of-18 on field goals (83.3 percent) and 32-of-33 on extra points. His 15 makes share eighth in school history.

The left-footer, who also garnered third team honors from the media, concluded the regular season third in the B1G in percentage (T-20th nationally) and tied fourth in field goals made (T-28th).

In league games only, Justus was 13-of-15 (86.7) on three-pointers and 20-of-20 on PATs. The McCordsville, Ind., native shared the second spot in field goals, was second in percentage and seventh among kickers in scoring (6.6 ppg).


Wes Martin

Martin started all 12 games at left guard this season and 37 straight to close out his career. He became the fourth Hoosier to appear in 50 games.

Brandon Knight

Knight started all 12 at right tackle in 2018, started 26 overall and played in 41 total in his career.

Donavan Hale

Hale finished the campaign with 42 catches (3rd on team) for 508 yards (2nd) and six scores (1st), which shared 10th in the Big Ten. He reached 50 yards seven times, including five of the last six games.

The Largo, Fla., product posted a career-high 92 yards in the Maryland win and a career-best 10 catches against Purdue.

Stevie Scott

Scott became the 19th Hoosier to reach 1,000 yards in a single season and finished 14th overall with 1,137 yards. He finished second in the conference in carries (228, 12th nationally), fourth in yardage (21st), tied for fourth in total TDs (10) and rushing touchdowns (9), and 10th in all-purpose yardage (101.9).

Amongst true freshmen running backs, Scott ranked second in the nation in yardage, 100-yard games and attempts, and third in rushing scores. The Syracuse, N.Y., native sits atop the IU true freshman lists in each of those categories as well.

J-Shun Harris

Harris is one of 20 semifinalists for the Jason Witten Collegiate Man of the Year Award and a nominee for the Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Award. He returned from his third ACL injury (right), which he sustained in game eight at Maryland last year. Harris came back to action in 2017 after he tore his right ACL during 2015 summer workouts and his left ACL in 2016 preseason camp.

The Fishers, Ind., native matched IU’s program record with his third punt return touchdown against Ball State in week three, an 86-yarder, en route to his third career Big Ten Special Teams Player of the Week accolade. His 9.2 average claimed fourth in the conference (31st nationally), while his 147 punt return yards were fourth.

Jonathan Crawford

Crawford became the first Hoosier and the 12th Big Ten player to start 50 games (50). He closed out his career with 275 tackles, 182 solos, 7.5 for loss, two sacks, 19 pass breakups, nine interceptions (T-8th in program history), seven fumble recoveries, three forced fumbles, 19 takeaways and two blocked kicks.

The Largo, Fla, native led the team lead this year with 66 stops and 47 solos in addition to one sack, 3.5 TFLs, four takeaways (T-2nd), two fumble recoveries (T-1st, T-2nd in B1G, T-21st nationally), one INT (T-2nd) and one forced fumble (T-3rd).

Marcelino Ball

Ball led the team with 7.5 tackles for loss, was second in solo tackles (40), and third in sacks (2.5) and total stops (59) in 2018. The 19-year old started all 12 games and added his first career forced fumble, one interception and three pass breakups.

With 10-tackle efforts against Iowa and at No. 4 Michigan, Ball pushed his career double-digit total to four.


Senior defensive tackle Jacob Robinson was named the team’s Big Ten Sportsmanship Award winner.

You can follow us on Twitter:  @daily_hoosier

Find us on Facebook:  thedailyhoosier

Want to receive all of our content via one e-mail in your inbox every day?  It’s free.  Join our daily mailing list here.
Please consider supporting The Daily Hoosier by shopping on Amazon via this link to the Amazon home page or through the ad below.