Via Sherry Leal

IU Basketball Recruiting: Leal and Galloway Two of Five Indiana Mr. Basketball Finalists

IU has never successfully recruited three straight Indiana Mr. Basketball winners, but that could be about to change.

Class of 2020 IU signees Trey Galloway and Anthony Leal are on the list of the five finalists for the prestigious honor set to be announced on Friday by the Indianapolis Star.

Joining Leal and Galloway on the list of finalists are Dre Davis from Lawrence Central (Louisville), Johnell Davis from Gary 21st Century (Florida Atlantic), and Tony Perkins from Lawrence North (Iowa).

Galloway averaged 20.9 points, 5.5 rebounds, 5.2 assists and 2.3 steals per game for Culver Academies.  After missing a few games due to a right wrist injury, the 6-foot-5 guard led the Eagles to a 15-game winning streak to finish the season.  Galloway set the Culver career scoring record with 1,537 points.

Leal averaged 18.2 points and 4.3 rebounds per game and led Bloomington South to an undefeated 26-0 season. Leal set the career scoring record at Bloomington South with 1,617 points.

Both Galloway and Leal led their respective teams to sectional titles before the season was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Both players were named Indiana All-Stars earlier this week.


The Indiana Mr. Basketball award has been handed out since 1939.  Here are the winners that went on to play, at least initially, for Indiana University:

  • Ed Schienbein, 1940
  • Tom Schwartz, 1945
  • Bill Garrett, 1947
  • Bob Masters, 1948
  • Hallie Bryant, 1953
  • Jimmy Rayl, 1959
  • Tom and Dick Van Arsdale, 1961
  • George McGinnis, 1969
  • Dave Shepherd, 1970
  • Kent Benson, 1973
  • Ray Tolbert, 1977
  • Steve Bouchie, 1979
  • Steve Alford, 1983
  • Delray Brooks, 1984
  • Jay Edwards and Lyndon Jones, 1987
  • Pat Graham, 1989
  • Damon Bailey, 1990
  • Luke Recker, 1997
  • Tom Coverdale, 1998
  • Jared Jeffries, 2000
  • A.J. Ratliff, 2004
  • Eric Gordon, 2007
  • Jordan Hulls, 2009
  • Cody Zeller, 2011
  • Romeo Langford, 2018
  • Trayce Jackson-Davis, 2019

Notes:  Sherron Wilkerson originally won the 1993 Mr. Basketball.  He was later stripped of the award and it was given to Kojak Fuller.

You can follow us on Twitter:  @daily_hoosier

Find us on Facebook:  thedailyhoosier

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”

Want to receive all of our content via one e-mail in your inbox every day?  It’s free.  Join our daily mailing list here.

Please consider supporting The Daily Hoosier by shopping on Amazon via this link to the Amazon home page or through the ad below.