Photos via Anthony Leal on Twitter / Journal & Courier

IU Basketball Signees Trey Galloway and Anthony Leal are Named Indiana All-Stars

It comes as no surprise that IU basketball class of 2020 signees Trey Galloway and Anthony Leal were named as 2 of the 13 Indiana All-Stars on Monday.

It will be surprising, however, if the Bloomington bound duo is able to represent their state in the annual Indiana vs. Kentucky All-Star series at the regularly scheduled time in early June.

But just being named Indiana All-Stars carries special significance to in-state players.  And after the abrupt and frustrating end of their respective high school careers, Galloway and Leal have now earned an honor that they can carry with them for a lifetime.

Galloway averaged 20.9 points, 5.5 rebounds, 5.2 assists and 2.3 steals per game.  After missing a few games due to a right wrist injury, the 6-foot-5 Culver Academies guard led the Eagles to a 15-game winning streak to finish the season.  Galloway set the Culver career scoring record with 1,537 points.

Leal averaged 18.2 points and 4.3 rebounds per game and led Bloomington South to an undefeated 26-0 season. Leal set the career scoring record at Bloomington South with 1,617 points.

Both Galloway and Leal led their respective teams to sectional titles before the season was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

As of this writing the All-Star series with Kentucky has not been canceled or postponed.  Here is the current schedule:

Monday, June 1 — Junior All-Stars vs. Kentucky Junior All-Stars at TBA (girls, 6:00 p.m.; boys, to follow; Core Group, plus Blue Group); admission, TBA at the door.

Wednesday, June 3 — Junior-Senior All-Star game at TBA (girls, 6:00 p.m.; boys, to follow; Core Group, plus Red Group); admission, TBA at the door.

Friday, June 5 — Indiana at Kentucky at TBA (girls, TBA start time; boys, to follow). Ticket information, TBA.

Saturday, June 6 — Indiana vs. Kentucky at Southport Fieldhouse (971 E. Banta Rd., Indianapolis, IN 46227) — girls, 5:00 p.m.; boys, to follow. Ticket information, prices are TBA.

2020 Indiana Boys Senior All-Stars

Tre Coleman, Jeffersonville

Johnell Davis, Gary 21st Century

Dre Davis, Lawrence Central

Malek Edmonds, Brownsburg

Trey Galloway, Culver

Anthony Leal, Bloomington South

Mabor Majak, Hamilton Southeastern

Sincere McMahon, Crispus Attucks

Nijel Pack, Lawrence Central

Tayson Parker, Northwestern

Tony Perkins, Lawrence North

Kiyron Powell, Evansville Bosse

Charlie Yoder, Westview

2020 Indiana Boys Junior All-Stars


Brooks Barnhizer, Lafayette Jeff
Caleb Furst, Fort Wayne Blackhawk Christian
Trey Kaufman, Silver Creek
J.R. Konieczny, South Bend St. Joseph
Khristian Lander, Evansville Reitz
Keon Thompson, Merrillville


Jalen Blackmon, Marion
Luke Brown, Blackford
Michael Eley, Fort Wayne Snider
Luke Goode, Homestead
Christopher Mantis, Lowell
Malik Stanley, Warren Central
Blake Wesley, South Bend Riley


Shamar Avance, Lawrence North
Lincoln Hale, Linton-Stockton
Jake Heidbreder, Floyd Central
Connor Hickman, Bloomington South
Kooper Jacobi, Silver Creek
Blake Sisley, Heritage Hills
Pierce Thomas, Brownsburg

See also

You can follow us on Twitter:  @daily_hoosier

Find us on Facebook:  thedailyhoosier

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”

Seven ways to support completely free IU coverage at no additional cost to you.