IU awards outgoing AD Fred Glass the President’s Medal for Excellence

Outgoing IU Director of Athletics Fred Glass received one of the school’s highest honors when President Michael McRobbie awarded him with the President’s Medal of Excellence on Monday.

Glass is set to step down from his role this week, and Scott Dolson will take over the AD position on July 1.

Below is the full release from Indiana University.

Bloomington, Ind. – Fred Glass, who will retire as Indiana University Vice President and Director of Intercollegiate Athletics tomorrow, has received the IU President’s Medal for Excellence.

Glass received the award during an unannounced appearance from IU President Michael A. McRobbie during a Zoom conference with IU Athletics’ senior administrative staff Monday morning. The medal honors the Glass’ transformative 11 ½ year era overseeing IU Athletics. The medal, which reproduces in silver the jewel of office worn by IU’s president on ceremonial occasions, is the highest honor an IU president can bestow.

“Fred has been an outstanding athletics director for IU and is one of the very best in the Big Ten,” said President McRobbie. “He assumed the role after what had been a tumultuous decade for IU Athletics. Since then, he has worked tirelessly to return his alma mater to its rightful place as one of the premier athletic departments in the country. He has elevated compliance to the highest level of priority, has continually underscored the importance of academics, and has been an outstandingly successful fundraiser. Moreover, he has been deeply committed to the holistic care and support of IU student athletes in all 24 sports, as is evidenced by the establishment of the IU Excellence Academy, his founding of the Athletic Director’s Council on Diversity and Inclusivity, and numerous other successful initiatives and programs.”

Since becoming the leader of IU Athletics on Jan. 1, 2009, Glass has overseen an era of tremendous success for its students in academic and athletic accomplishment and personal development. He also led the department’s efforts to complete a much-needed, comprehensive, self-funded quarter of a billion dollar plus modernization of its major athletic facilities.

Among the notable accomplishments during Glass’ tenure:

    • IU Athletics’ Graduation Success Rate has climbed from 77 percent to 91 percent and has equaled or established a new record score in each of the last seven years;
    • 25 team and 210 individual Big Ten championships;
    • 28 individual and one NCAA team championship;
    • 46 Big Ten Athletes of the Year;
    • 537 All-America honors;
    • 1,318 Academic All-Big Ten honors;
    • Introduced groundbreaking initiatives, including the Student-Athlete Bill of Rights and the Sexual Violence Disqualification Policy;
    • Created the Excellence Academy program, the most innovative and comprehensive personal development program in all of intercollegiate athletics;
    • Comprehensive overhaul of IU Athletics facilities has included:
      • $49 million for Memorial Stadium North End Zone facility;
      • $48 million for the Excellence Academy facility on Memorial Stadium’s south end;
      • $45 million renovation of Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall;
      • $24.6 million for construction of Cook Hall;
      • A combined $50 million plus for construction of Wilkinson Hall, Bart Kaufman Field, The Pfau Course at Indiana University, and Andy Mohr Field.
    • No major NCAA rules violations.

Glass is one of only 143 individuals to receive the President’s Medal, which was first introduced in 1985. He is one of only six recipients with direct ties to IU Athletics, joining Bob Knight (1987), Ed Williams (1992), Jerry Yeagley (2018), Lin Loring (2018) and Hobie Billingsley (2018).