Indiana wins Big Ten men’s soccer tournament championship

The top-seeded Indiana men’s soccer team earned the Big Ten Tournament Championship Saturday, defeating No. 2 seed Penn State on penalty kicks at Jerry Yeagley Field at Bill Armstrong Stadium in Bloomington, Ind. Following a 1-1 contest, the Hoosiers were victorious on penalty kicks, 3-2, to claim their third consecutive tournament title and fourth overall.

Indiana becomes the first program to win three consecutive Big Ten Tournaments since Maryland claimed three in a row from 2014-16. With today’s victory, Indiana earns the Big Ten’s automatic qualifier into the 2020-21 NCAA Championship.

Indiana’s Victor Bezerra was named Offensive Player of the Tournament after scoring five goals in three tournament games. Hoosier goalkeeper Roman Celentano was voted Defensive Player of the Tournament after he allowed just one goal in the tournament.

The announcement of the 36-team field for the 2020-21 NCAA Men’s Soccer Championship will be made at 12 p.m. ET on Monday, April 19, on

2020-21 Big Ten Men’s Soccer All-Tournament Team
Victor Bezerra, Indiana
Roman Celentano, Indiana
Daniel Munie, Indiana
Malcolm Johnston, Maryland
Kevin Buca, Michigan
Michael Miller, Michigan State
Richie Bennett, Northwestern
Laurence Wooten, Ohio State
Danny Bloyou, Penn State
Pierre Reedy, Penn State
Ola Maeland, Rutgers

Individual Awards
Offensive Player of the Tournament: Victor Bezerra, Indiana
Defensive Player of the Tournament: Roman Celentano, Indiana

Find us on Facebook:  thedailyhoosier

You can follow us on Twitter:  @daily_hoosier

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”

Seven ways to support completely free IU coverage at no additional cost to you.