Via IU Athletics

Indiana to Honor 1980 Big Ten Championship Team at Halftime of Purdue Game

The Indiana basketball program will be honoring the 1980 Big Ten title team at halftime of Saturday’s contest against Purdue.

The Daily Hoosier has confirmed that Big Ten Player of the Year Mike Woodson will be in attendance.  Several of his teammates are expected to be there as well.  We are awaiting confirmation from the school on the other members of the team that will be on hand.

Below is the full release from IU.

1980 Big Ten Champions Will Be Honored At Halftime of Purdue Game

Indiana University will honor the 1980 Big Ten Champion men’s basketball team at halftime of the Hoosiers game against Purdue, Saturday.  The game tips off at 2 p.m. and will be shown on ESPN.

Picked No. 1 in the preseason by Sports Illustrated, but affected by key injuries, the squad finished 21-8 and won their last six league games to claim the title. The streak was spurred by the return of Senior All-American and Big Ten Player of the Year Mike Woodson, who came back after undergoing back surgery in December.

Members of this team also had roles on the 1979 NIT Championship squad, the 1981 National Championship and Big Ten title season, and the 1983 Big Ten Championship team.

The team had six members of the IU Athletics Hall of Fame, 12 NBA draft picks, 3 Big Ten MVP’s, and 5 All-Americans. Isiah Thomas also was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 2000.

11 Isiah Thomas G 6–1 Fr. Chicago, Illinois
20 Jim Thomas G 6–3 Fr. Fort Lauderdale, Florida
23 Chuck Franz G 6–2 Fr. Clarksville, Indiana
24 Randy Wittman G/F 6–6 RS So. Indianapolis, Indiana
30 Ted Kitchel F 6–8 RS So. Galveston, Indiana
31 Tony Brown G 6–2 Fr. Chicago, Illinois
32 Landon Turner F/C 6–10 So. Indianapolis, Indiana
33 Eric Kirchner F 6–7 Jr. Edelstein, Illinois
34 Steve Risley F 6–8 Jr. Indianapolis, Indiana
40 Glen Grunwald F 6–9 RS Sr. Franklin Park, Illinois
41 Butch Carter G 6–5 Sr. Middletown, Ohio
42 Mike Woodson F 6–5 Sr. Indianapolis, Indiana
44 Phil Isenbarger F 6–8 Jr. Muncie, Indiana
45 Ray Tolbert F/C 6–9 Jr. Anderson, Indiana
54 Steve Bouchie F 6–8 Fr. Washington, Indiana

Head Coach:  Bob Knight

Assistant Coaches:  Gerry Gimelstob, Tom Miller, Jim Crews, Jene Davis  Trainer:  Bob Young

All-Americans:  Mike Woodson, Isiah Thomas, Randy Wittman, Ted Kitchel, Landon Turner

Big Ten Players of the Year:  Mike Woodson, Ray Tolbert, Randy Wittman

NBA Draft Picks:  Isiah Thomas, Jim Thomas, Randy Wittman, Ted Kitchel, Landon Turner, Steve Risley, Glen Grunwald, Butch Carter, Mike Woodson. Steve Bouchie, Ray Tolbert, Tony Brown

IU Athletics Hall of Fame:  Mike Woodson, Isiah Thomas, Ted Kitchel, Randy Wittman, Ray Tolbert, Landon Turner

SEE ALSO:  Archie Miller chose No. 11 because of Isiah Thomas

You can follow us on Twitter:  @daily_hoosier

Find us on Facebook:  thedailyhoosier

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”

Seven ways to support completely free IU coverage at no additional cost to you.