Photo credit - Indiana University Athletics

Indiana Football’s Tuttle Nominated for AFCA Good Works Team

Indiana football redshirt-senior Jack Tuttle has been nominated for the 2022 American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Good Works Team, which honors 22 leaders and community champions from around college football’s five subdivisions.

Tuttle was among the nominees for the Wuerffel Trophy in 2021 and has been a part of numerous initiatives in both the Bloomington area and around the country. He worked with the Red Cross this year on disaster relief and blood drives, while also donating plasma and blood himself.

A volunteer at the Tim Tebow “Night to Shine,” the San Marcos, California, native has also worked with the Fellowship of Christian Athletes on multiple initiatives, volunteered at Riley Children’s Hospital, teamed up with the 2nd & 7 Foundation and handed out water in the community to homeless.

A 2021 IU graduate with his degree in supply chain management, Tuttle is working towards his MBA in management and is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection. Two separate injuries limited Tuttle to six games in 2021 – including two starts – as he threw for 423 yards and five touchdowns. In 2020, Tuttle earned the program’s LEO Award after stepping in and staring the final two games of the season. His first career start came in a road victory over No. 16 Wisconsin, which earned the Hoosiers a spot in the Outback Bowl.

Established in 1992, the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team is one of the most coveted community service awards in college football. From the 114 nominees, the final roster of 23 award recipients will bring together 11 players from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision; 11 players from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III and the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA); and one honorary head coach. To be considered for a spot on the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, each player must be actively involved with a charitable organization or service group while maintaining strong academic standing.

The final 22-member team and honorary coach are selected by a voting panel of former Allstate AFCA Good Works Team members and journalists. They look for exceptional leadership on and off the football field.

In addition to Tim Tebow and Tony Hawkes, the 2022 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team selection panel members are: Zaid Abdul-Aleem (Duke, 1994 team); Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1997, 1998); Brian Brenberg (St. Thomas, 2001); Mike Proman (Amherst, 2002); Wes Counts (Middle Tennessee State, 1999); media members Kirk Herbstreit (ESPN); Blair Kerkhoff (Kansas City Star); and Paul Myerberg (USA Today); 2022 AFCA President and University of Wyoming head coach Craig Bohl and current Athletic Director at Virginia Union University Joe Taylor.

After the final team members are announced in September, fans can vote for this year’s Allstate AFCA Good Works Team captain through the official page on Fans can join the conversation on social media with #GoodWorksTeam throughout the season.

The AFCA was founded in 1922 and currently has more than 11,000 members around the world ranging from the high school level to the professional ranks. According to its constitution, the AFCA was formed, in part, to “maintain the highest possible standards in football and in the coaching profession” and to “provide a forum for the discussion and study of all matters pertaining to football.”

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”