Credit - Indiana University Athletics

Indiana football finalizes 32-man signing class for 2022

Indiana head football coach Tom Allen announced on Wednesday the signing of defensive lineman J’mari Monette and quarterback Brendan Sorsby to National Letters of Intent to play for the Hoosiers in 2022.

Monette and Sorsby close out IU’s signing class at 32 student-athletes. Twenty-two of the 32 signed National Letters of Intent, while 10 transfers will suit up for Indiana in the fall.

The 10 include quarterback Connor Bazelak (Missouri), linebacker Jared Casey (Kentucky), defensive lineman LeDarrius Cox (Ole Miss), running back Josh Henderson (North Carolina), outside linebacker Myles Jackson (UCLA), linebacker Bradley Jennings Jr. (Miami), defensive lineman Patrick Lucas Jr. (Ole Miss), running back Shaun Shivers (Auburn), wide receiver Emery Simmons (North Carolina), and defensive lineman JH Tevis (California).

Eight of the signees were four-star prospects, including wide receiver Omar Cooper Jr. (Rivals), defensive lineman Nick James (Rivals, ESPN), linebacker Dasan McCullough (Rivals, ESPN, 247Sports), offensive lineman DJ Moore (Rivals, ESPN), defensive back Trevell Mullen (Rivals, ESPN), running back Gi’Bran Payne (Rivals, ESPN, 247Sports), defensive lineman Venson Sneed (Rivals), and defensive lineman Richard Thomas Jr. (ESPN).

The Hoosiers signed 17 defensive players and 15 offensive players. Indiana added seven defensive linemen, six linebackers, and four defensive backs on defense, and four running backs, four wide receivers, three offensive lineman, two quarterbacks, and two tight ends on offense.

Players signed from 12 different states, including nine from Florida, six from Ohio, three from Indiana and Texas, two each from Alabama, Georgia, and Louisiana, and one each from Arkansas, California, Kentucky, New Jersey, and North Carolina.


(247Sports Composite)

High School – National: No. 21

High School – Big Ten:  No. 4

Transfers – National:  No. 17

Transfers – Big Ten:  No. 3

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”