Credit - IU Archives

Full Game Rewind: Indiana vs. Tennessee at the 1987 Peach Bowl

Thursday’s Gator Bowl will mark the 32 year anniversary of the first and only meeting between Indiana and Tennessee.  The Peach Bowl following the 1987 season was played on January 2, 1988 at Atlanta’s since demolished Fulton County Stadium.

Indiana’s roster had a number of stars including future NFL players and draft picks Eric Moore, Van Waiters, Ernie Jones, Eric Hickerson, Anthony Thompson, Pete Stoyanovich, Mike Dumas, Gary Gooden, Dan Stryzinski and Nolan Harrison.  Also on the team was current IU defensive coach Mark Hagen.

You can watch the full game below.  For more background, read Kevin Brockway’s retrospective on the memorable contest written earlier this week, including thoughts from Thompson, Hagen, and IU radio announcer Don Fischer.

You can follow us on Twitter:  @daily_hoosier

Find us on Facebook:  thedailyhoosier

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”

Seven ways to support completely free IU coverage at no additional cost to you