Credit - IU Athletics

Big Ten releases 2022 women’s basketball tournament bracket

A rough finish has left Indiana with a more difficult path to a Big Ten Tournament crown.

Four losses in their final five games of the regular season means the IU women dropped to the No. 5 seed in the conference tournament.

The Big Ten Conference has announced the full bracket for the 29th Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament that will take place March 2-6 at Gainbridge Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.

As a No. 5 seed, the Hoosiers will only get a single-bye.  Their first game will be on Thursday at around 1:45 p.m. Eastern (BTN) against the winner of a Wednesday game between No. 13 Rutgers and No. 12 Penn State.  Indiana defeated Penn State earlier this season and did not face Rutgers.

If Indiana advances to Friday they will face No. 4 seed Maryland for the third time this season.  IU and Maryland split their two regular season meetings.

Ohio State is the overall No. 1 seed, with Iowa and Michigan claiming the No. 2 and 3 spots, respectively.

All 13 games of this year’s Big Ten Tournament will be televised live to a national audience, with the first round through semifinal games from Wednesday through Saturday broadcast on the Big Ten Network, as well as on the FOX Sports app. The Big Ten Tournament championship game on March 6 will be televised live on ESPN2, as well as the ESPN app.

All-session and single-session tickets for the 2022 Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament are on sale at the Gainbridge Fieldhouse box office and Single-session ticket prices vary from $8 to $16 depending on the session, while all-session tickets are available for $75. Other than suites and the fan blocks for that university’s respective games (with tickets within fan blocks available through each school’s ticket office), the Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament features general admission seating, allowing fans to witness the action from the best available seats at Gainbridge Fieldhouse.

The 2022 Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament schedule is as follows:

Wednesday, March 2 (First Round)
Game 1 (#12 Penn State vs. #13 Rutgers) – 2 p.m. ET (BTN)
Game 2 (#11 Wisconsin vs. #14 Illinois) – 4:30 p.m. ET (BTN)

Thursday, March 3 (Second Round)
Game 3 (#8 Michigan State vs. #9 Purdue) – 11:30 a.m. ET (BTN)
Game 4 (#5 Indiana vs. Game 1 winner) – 25 minutes following Game 3 (BTN)
Game 5 (#7 Northwestern vs. #10 Minnesota) – 6:30 p.m. ET (BTN)
Game 6 (#6 Nebraska vs. Game 2 winner) – 25 minutes following Game 5 (BTN)

Friday, March 4 (Quarterfinals)
Game 7 (#1 Ohio State vs. Game 3 winner) – 11:30 a.m. ET (BTN)
Game 8 (#4 Maryland vs. Game 4 winner) – 25 minutes following Game 7 (BTN)
Game 9 (#2 Iowa vs. Game 5 winner) – 6:30 p.m. ET (BTN)
Game 10 (#3 Michigan vs. Game 6 winner) – 25 minutes following Game 9 (BTN)

Saturday, March 5 (Semifinals)
Game 11 (Game 7 vs. Game 8 winner) – 3:30 p.m. ET (BTN)
Game 12 (Game 9 vs. Game 10 winner) – 6 p.m. ET (BTN)

Sunday, March 6 (Championship)
Game 13 (Game 11 vs. Game 12 winner) – 4 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”