Credit - IU Athletics

Trayce Jackson-Davis Wins 2019 Indiana Mr. Basketball

For the second straight year, Indiana’s Mr. Basketball is headed to Bloomington to play college basketball.

Center Grove’s Trayce Jackson-Davis is the 2019 winner of the prestigious honor signifying the best high school player in the state of Indiana.  The Greenwood, Ind. native follows in the footsteps of Romeo Langford as an Indiana Mr. Basketball award recipient that will play for IU after high school.

The back-to-back honor for IU signees is significant and highlights the success of head coach Archie Miller’s focus on recruiting within the Hoosier state..  Prior to Langford, no Indiana Mr. Basketball had gone to IU since Cody Zeller in 2011.

The award was announced on Sunday night at Clowes Memorial Hall in Indianapolis.  IU bound Jorie Allen from Bedford North Lawrence won the Miss Basketball award.

According to the Indy Star, Jackson-Davis was voted as the winner on 179 of 311 ballots.  IU signee Armaan Franklin finished third with 32 votes.

As a senior at Center Grove, Jackson-Davis averaged 22 points, 9.4 rebounds and 3.1 blocks per game.  He shot 62% from the field for the season.

The 6-foot-9 forward led the Trojans to the semi-state round of the 2019 Indiana Class 4A state tournament.  Center Grove reached at least the regional round three times during Jackson-Davis’ career.

Jackson-Davis was also a McDonald’s All-American and a 2018 USA Basketball gold medalist.


The Indiana Mr. Basketball award has been handed out since 1939.  Here are the winners that went on to play, at least initially, for Indiana University:

  • Ed Schienbein, 1940
  • Tom Schwartz, 1945
  • Bill Garrett, 1947
  • Bob Masters, 1948
  • Hallie Bryant, 1953
  • Jimmy Rayl, 1959
  • Tom and Dick Van Arsdale, 1961
  • George McGinnis, 1969
  • Dave Shepherd, 1970
  • Kent Benson, 1973
  • Ray Tolbert, 1977
  • Steve Bouchie, 1979
  • Steve Alford, 1983
  • Delray Brooks, 1984
  • Jay Edwards and Lyndon Jones, 1987
  • Pat Graham, 1989
  • Damon Bailey, 1990
  • Luke Recker, 1997
  • Tom Coverdale, 1998
  • Jared Jeffries, 2000
  • A.J. Ratliff, 2004
  • Eric Gordon, 2007
  • Jordan Hulls, 2009
  • Cody Zeller, 2011
  • Romeo Langford, 2018
  • Trayce Jackson-Davis, 2019

Notes:  Sherron Wilkerson originally won the 1993 Mr. Basketball.  He was later stripped of the award and it was given to Kojak Fuller.

IU has never successfully recruited three straight Mr. Basketball winners.

You can follow us on Twitter:  @daily_hoosier

Find us on Facebook:  thedailyhoosier

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”

Want to receive all of our content via one e-mail in your inbox every day?  It’s free.  Join our daily mailing list here.

Please consider supporting The Daily Hoosier by shopping on Amazon via this link to the Amazon home page or through the ad below.