The Daily Hoosier’s 2019 All-Big Ten Basketball Awards

Another Big Ten basketball regular season is in the books.  Below are The Daily Hoosier’s selections for the annual All-Big Ten awards that will be named later in the day on Monday:


  • Cassius Winston, Michigan State
  • Carsen Edwards, Purdue
  • Bruno Fernando, Maryland
  • Ethan Happ, Wisconsin
  • Lamar Stevens, Penn State

(Note:  This one came down to Stevens vs. Simpson for the first team.  While Simpson was on the better team, Stevens is the more valuable player on a red hot team down the stretch.)


  • Tyler Cook, Iowa
  • Jordan Murphy, Minnesota
  • Anthony Cowan, Maryland
  • Zavier Simpson, Michigan
  • Juwan Morgan, Indiana


  • Amir Coffey, Minnesota
  • Nick Ward, Michigan State
  • Ignas Brazdeikis, Michigan
  • James Palmer, Nebraska
  • Romeo Langford, Indiana

(Honorable mention:  Jon Teske, Dererk Pardon, Kaleb Wesson, Jordan Bohannon, Kenny Goins, Jordan Poole, Isaiah Roby, Josh Reaves, Eugene Omoruyi.)


  • Romeo Langford, Indiana
  • Joe Weiskamp, Iowa
  • Ignas Brazdeikis, Michigan
  • Ayo Dosunmu, Illinois
  • Giorgi Bezhanishvili, Illinois


  • Matt Haarms, Purdue
  • Josh Reaves, Penn State
  • C.J. Jackson, Ohio State
  • Juwan Morgan, Indiana
  • Isaiah Roby, Nebraska

Player of the YearCassius Winston, Michigan State.  Winston gets the nod because of his complete game including offensive efficiency and leading the league in assists by a wide margin.  The Spartans suffered major injuries during the season and Winston kept everything going.

Defensive Player of the YearJosh Reaves, Penn State.  By far the most complete defensive player in the league.  Reaves averaged 2.6 steals per game, nearly a steal a game more than his closest competition, and he also average one block per contest.

Freshman of the YearRomeo Langford, Indiana.  No other freshman in the league faced the defensive focus that Langford did, and he still produced, finishing 8th in the league in scoring, tops among freshmen by nearly two poitns per game.  This one really isn’t close.

Most Improved PlayerKenny Goins, Michigan State. The former walk-on made major strides in his final season in East Lansing and helped to fuel MSU to a Big Ten title.

Sixth Man of the Year Xavier Tillman, Michigan State. Tillman was strong off the bench all year and then stepped in admirably when Nick Ward went down.  Textbook sixth man.

Coach of the YearMatt Painter, Purdue.  This one is obvious.  No one had Purdue winning the Big Ten after losing four starters.  It was a masterful job by Painter.

You can follow us on Twitter:  @daily_hoosier

Find us on Facebook:  thedailyhoosier

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”

Want to receive all of our content via one e-mail in your inbox every day?  It’s free.  Join our daily mailing list here.

Please consider supporting The Daily Hoosier by shopping on Amazon via this link to the Amazon home page or through the ad below.