Photo by Mike Schumann / The Daily Hoosier

IU Basketball Signee Anthony Leal Wins 2020 Indiana Mr. Basketball

IU basketball signee and Bloomington High School South product Anthony Leal has been named Indiana Mr. Basketball for 2020.

And for the first time ever, an incoming IU basketball player has won the award for three straight years.

Leal averaged 18.2 points and 4.3 rebounds per game and led Bloomington South to an undefeated 26-0 season. He set the career scoring record at Bloomington South with 1,620 points.

An efficient scorer, Leal shot 59% from the field overall, including 37% from behind the arc.  Leal made 76% of his free throws and added 4 rebounds, 2.8 assists and 2.2 steals per contest.

According to the Indianapolis Star, Leal was named on 103 of the 236 ballots returned from the state’s coaches and media. Lawrence North’s Tony Perkins was second with 37 votes, followed by Culver Academy’s Trey Galloway with 33 votes, Gary 21st Johnell Davis with 22 and Lawrence Central’s Dre Davis with 15.

The 6-foot-5 Leal was also named first team all-state this week.  He follows former IU star Jordan Hulls as a Bloomington South to IU Mr. Basketball winner.

Leal follows Romeo Langford (2018) and Trayce Jackson-Davis (2019) as the third consecutive IU-bound winner of the award.

Video credit – Indy Star


The Indiana Mr. Basketball award has been handed out since 1939.  Here are the winners that went on to play, at least initially, for Indiana University:

  • Ed Schienbein, 1940
  • Tom Schwartz, 1945
  • Bill Garrett, 1947
  • Bob Masters, 1948
  • Hallie Bryant, 1953
  • Jimmy Rayl, 1959
  • Tom and Dick Van Arsdale, 1961
  • George McGinnis, 1969
  • Dave Shepherd, 1970
  • Kent Benson, 1973
  • Ray Tolbert, 1977
  • Steve Bouchie, 1979
  • Steve Alford, 1983
  • Delray Brooks, 1984
  • Jay Edwards and Lyndon Jones, 1987
  • Pat Graham, 1989
  • Damon Bailey, 1990
  • Luke Recker, 1997
  • Tom Coverdale, 1998
  • Jared Jeffries, 2000
  • A.J. Ratliff, 2004
  • Eric Gordon, 2007
  • Jordan Hulls, 2009
  • Cody Zeller, 2011
  • Romeo Langford, 2018
  • Trayce Jackson-Davis, 2019
  • Anthony Leal, 2020

Notes:  Sherron Wilkerson originally won the 1993 Mr. Basketball.  He was later stripped of the award and it was given to Kojak Fuller.

You can follow us on Twitter:  @daily_hoosier

Find us on Facebook:  thedailyhoosier

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”