Indiana Men Win Third Straight Big Ten Swimming and Diving Title

For the third-straight year and the 27th time in program history, the Indiana men’s swimming and diving program won the Big Ten Championship.

The Hoosiers won a third-straight league title for the first time since 1983-85.

Competing at the Campus Recreation & Wellness Center Natatorium in Iowa City, Iowa, IU won the team title with a total score of 1,705 points. Michigan finished in second place with a score of 1,464.

IU won 13 conference championships over the week and earned 24 total medals.

Vini Lanza was named the named Swimmer of the Championships for a Big Ten first third straight year.  Lanza won titles in the 200 IM, 200 butterfly, 200 freestyle relay, 800 freestyle relay and 400 medley relay during the event.

James Connor was named Diver of the Championships for the second time in his career.  He won Big Ten titles in both the 1-meter and 3-meter dives.

In addition to Lanza and Connor, Zach Apple, Bruno Blaskovic, Gabriel Fantoni, Ian Finnerty, Brandon Hamblin and Mohamed Samy were named first team All-Big Ten.

Now the No. 2 ranked Hoosiers turn their attention to the biggest prize.  Indiana will compete for a national championship at the NCAA finals in Austin, Texas beginning on March 21.

You can follow us on Twitter:  @daily_hoosier

Find us on Facebook:  thedailyhoosier

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”

Want to receive all of our content via one e-mail in your inbox every day?  It’s free.  Join our daily mailing list here.

Please consider supporting The Daily Hoosier by shopping on Amazon via this link to the Amazon home page or through the ad below.