Photo by Chad Frazell for The Daily Hoosier

First look: IU football 2020 two-deep depth chart

With the season opening kickoff just days away, Indiana released its depth chart on Monday.

While there weren’t a lot of surprises, some questions were answered.

One of the biggest competitions has been at the guard spots.

Mackenzie Nworah will start at right guard according to the depth chart, while the left guard battle between Dylan Powell and Mike Katic appears to be ongoing.

David Ellis had been mentioned on multiple occasions as working out with the running backs this spring and fall.  That might still be the case, but Ellis is shown as the backup to Whop Philyor at the slot wide receiver.

Speaking of wide receiver, Jacolby Hewitt, Javon Swinton and Da’Shaun Brown appear to have risen up the depth chart during fall camp.  Hewitt missed all of 2019 with a knee injury, while Brown did not play.  Swinton is a true freshman.

The biggest surprise on the defensive side is Sio Nofoagatoto’a listed ahead of Demarcus Elliott at tackle.  Indiana rotates its defensive linemen extensively, so both will see plenty of playing time.  Stanford graduate transfer Jovan Swann is listed behind Jerome Johnson.  Again, both will play plenty.

After an injury prevented Reese Taylor from assuming punt returner duties in 2019, he appears on track to handle some of that job with Philyor this year.  Taylor is also listed as a co-starter along with Jaylin Williams at cornerback.

Here is a complete rundown of the two and in some cases three-deep depth chart.  The player listed first is the expected starter.


LT – Caleb Jones, Aidan Rafferty

LG – Dylan Powell or Mike Katic

C – Harry Crider, Charlie O’Connor

RG – Mackenzie Nworah, Tim Weaver

RT – Matthew Bedford, Britt Beery

WR – Miles Marshall, Jacolby Hewitt

WR – Whop Philyor, David Ellis, Javon Swinton

WR – Ty Fryfogle, Da’Shaun Brown

QB – Mike Penix, Jack Tuttle

RB – Stevie Scott, Sampson James

TE – Peyton Hendershot, Matt Bjorson, A.J. Barner


DE – James Head, Jonathan King

DT – Sio Nofoagatoto’a, Demarcus Elliott

DT – Jerome Johnson, Jovan Swann, C.J. Person

DE – Michael Ziemba, Alfred Bryant

LB – Micah McFadden, James Miller, Thomas Allen

LB – Cam Jones, Aaron Casey, D.K. Bonhomme

Husky – Bryant Fitzgerald, Jamar Johnson

CB – Reese Taylor or Jaylin Williams

S – Devon Matthews, Bryson Bonds

S – Jamar Johnson, Juwan Burgess

CB – Tiawan Mullen, Larry Tracy III


PK – Charles Campbell, Jack Cardillo

KO – Jared Smolar, Chris Freeman

P – Haydon Whitehead, Chase Wyatt

LS – Sean Wracher, Jake Wellmann

H – Haydon Whitehead, Chase Wyatt

KR – David Ellis, Ahrod Lloyd

PR – Reese Taylor or Whop Philyor

Find us on Facebook:  thedailyhoosier

You can follow us on Twitter:  @daily_hoosier

The Daily Hoosier –“Where Indiana fans assemble when they’re not at Assembly”

Seven ways to support completely free IU coverage at no additional cost to you.